PL 2016 – Weeks 0 & 1

I am a Sunday through Saturday girl when it comes to Project Life. It’s how I started three years ago and it’s become habit to think of my week this way. I am also of the thought that the year begins on January 1st. With that being said, there technically two days in the first week of 2016 and, because we were homebodies on New Years’ Day, there really weren’t all that many pictures either. So I added a Week 0 as the first spread of the year to capture this short period of time. 

PL 2016 – Week 0  

We spent much of New Years’ Day having fun with our new WiiU and Mario Kart 8, although we did take a small break for the Sherlock Christmas special on PBS. I am especially pleased that Benedict Cumberbatch and his compatriot Martin Freeman now grace my album with their presence. 

I created the ‘Happy New Year’ pic in the Rhonna Designs app as a header for my first blog post if 2016. And in an effort to include more of my handwriting, I decided to jot down a lovely Neil Gaiman quote, which encapsulates what I hope 2016 is for me and my family. 

PL 2016 – Week 2  

I am an avid reader. I read so much, there really is no way for me to keep track of all the books I devour throughout the year. Hardcover, softcover, e-book, fiction or non, romance, sci-fi, fantasy, biography, horror – I love it all. And I love finding books by new authors. Zodiac by Romina Russell was one I discovered quite by accident at Barnes and Noble in late December and finally got around to reading this week. It was fabulous! So much so that I was thrilled when My husband got me the second book in the series,  Wandering Star,  for my birthday. I am looking forward to the third book, which will be released this fall. If you are looking for a good sci-fi/fantasy – with a smudge of romance – YA book, I highly recommend this series. 

Other notable birthday events included time alone at Barnes and Noble with another new book discovery – The Crossroad of Should and Must: Find and Follow Your Passion by Elle Luna, dinner with my family at Texas Roadhouse, and the gift (to myself) of a new teal blue puffer coat. All in all, it was a lovely birthday. 

Page Construction Notes

I am primarily working with the Becky Higgins Picturesque Core Kit in Design A page protectors. I did make two cards – the one with the Neil Gaiman quote in Week 0 (white card stock and a blue chipboard star from Studio Calico) and the ‘handmade’ card from Week 1 (white card stock with a stamp and rubber embellishment from the Ali Edwards’s Craft Story Kit). 

Leave a Reply

