Day in the Life – 03.29.16

It’s done! Day in the Life took place on Tuesday and I put the final touches on my PL pages in the wee hours last night. To say it’s been a whirlwind is an understatement, but a good one. I am so proud of myself for showing up and just getting it done. 

As I mentioned in an earlier post, I ended up with 55 pictures of my day and made the decision early on that I wanted to include all of them. I just needed to figure out how to do it. 

After picking up my prints on Thursday, I quickly laid them all out and decided I would make four 2-page 12×12 spreads. I couldn’t get back to it until Saturday, so of course I started second guessing that decision. A few people posted their final DITL projects in the Craft Your Story with Ali Edwards group on FB and I really liked the idea of using inserts, so I thought I might give that a try. 

Unfortunately, I seems I am insert challenged, as I came to discover Saturday morning. I do have different sized page protectors in a few different orientations, but nothing that would allow me to include all the pics I’d taken, orientated as I’d taken them. Inserts were no go. 

I spent much of Saturday morning pondering what to do and finally decided to move forward with my original idea. Plan in hand, I opted to keep everything simple (photos and words, minimal embellishment) using only what was in Ali’s DITL kit. This would ensure all the pages told a cohesive story, but were set apart from the rest of my PL album. 

I did briefly consider adding in some journaling cards from my stash, but once I figured out how the words were going to make their way on the page, I no longer needed any additional filler. There were two stories that took more room to tell than was available on the front of a journaling card. I wrote both on the back of the card and added Post-It Filing Tabs so they can be pulled out and read as needed. I also supplemented Ali’s kit with some Twine & Ink puffy sticker dots (and yes, I am sure that is the technical name for them) in matching colors, white card stock, and a star punch. Oh, and a couple of Ali Edwards stamps as headers on my journaling cards. 

I would say all four layouts took about 6 hours to complete. The time stamp stars and the journaling were the most time consuming.

I really enjoyed documenting my day and I am beyond thrilled with how it all came together. Check it out below. 

DITL Layout # 1       

DITL Layout #2      

DITL Layout #3       

DITL Layout #4         

Page Construction Notes

  • Becky Higgins Design A Page Protectors
  • Ali Edwards Day in the Life Kit
  • Twine and Ink Puffy Dot Stickers
  • White card stock
  • Post-It Filing Tabs – 2 inch 
  • Ali Edwards Photos Stamp
  • Ali Edwards Storytelling Class Kit Stamp
6 thoughts on “Day in the Life – 03.29.16

  1. Melissa says:

    Way to go! You were quick getting these pages done! I need to work on mine!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alyssa says:

    These are great! I love how you put these pages together.

    Like

  3. That is amazing! I like the black and white photos. They make everything cohesive.
    Can I also say that I am impressed with the number of photos you took? On the rare times that I try to photograph my day, I might end up with just a couple of photos.

    Like

  4. LisaDV says:

    So Fabulous!!!! Love how you documented it.

    Like

  5. Karen M says:

    also love the black and white with pops of color and the cats…

    Like

  6. Michelle says:

    These look great, I only tried a Project Life app layout recently and I can see the appeal of the paper sets now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

