OLW 2016 – May

For OLW this month, we were to use our camera to connect with our word. 

As I have been focusing heavily on the written word of late, it’s no surprise that most of my pics this time around are of pens, ink, and paper. And that brought about an epiphany of sorts.

You see, I am a writer. I have been as long as I can remember and I always will be. Words are magic and man, I loved being a conduit with which that magic was shared with the world. I think I forgot that for a really long time. I let life and apathy and fear steal the joy I found in writing. 

Well, no more, I say. The time has come to once again embrace that joy. 

Now, I have untold stories within me – many, many stories that need to be unleashed upon the world and I’ll get there. But right now, my attention is on the physical act of writing. There is something so amazingly therapeutic about the disciplines of handwriting, lettering, and calligraphy. My writer’s soul – the one that’s been curled up in a little ball deep down inside – is basking in this healing power and I can feel it slowly coming back to life. 

So I’ll feed it with pens and ink and paper and quotes and soon we’ll be ready to tell those untold stories – to be conduit to the magic once again. 

OLW 2016 – May

Leave a Reply

